Skip to content
Thurrock Counts — Thurrock, in numbers.Local help →

Thurrock, in numbers

People and living standards

Thurrock council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Thurrock council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 128,672 in 1991 to 181,664 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Thurrock council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 134,678 people in 1996; 181,664 people in 2025. 34.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Thurrock council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991128,672
1992130,902
1993131,647
1994132,480
1995133,351
1996134,678
1997135,329
1998138,698
1999139,469
2000141,513
2001143,297
2002144,728
2003145,977
2004147,056
2005148,556
2006150,206
2007151,741
2008153,633
2009155,003
2010156,585
2011158,268
2012160,026
2013161,702
2014164,451
2015166,622
2016168,977
2017170,966
2018173,113
2019174,924
2020175,803
2021175,933
2022177,098
2023179,372
2024181,287
2025181,664
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Thurrock council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 29,813 people in 1996; 40,055 people in 2025. 34.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Thurrock council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199127,882
199228,396
199328,704
199429,238
199529,409
199629,813
199730,036
199830,657
199931,057
200031,261
200131,402
200231,426
200331,495
200431,618
200532,019
200632,163
200732,401
200833,070
200933,465
201033,813
201134,372
201234,869
201335,261
201436,015
201536,857
201637,636
201738,464
201839,136
201939,648
202039,915
202139,536
202239,947
202340,339
202440,444
202540,055
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Thurrock council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 87,067 people in 1996; 116,767 people in 2025. 34.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Thurrock council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199183,940
199285,423
199385,710
199485,785
199586,218
199687,067
199787,446
199890,053
199990,198
200091,809
200193,164
200294,493
200395,648
200496,512
200597,521
200699,005
2007100,172
2008101,209
2009101,916
2010102,869
2011103,657
2012104,041
2013104,581
2014106,041
2015106,881
2016108,079
2017109,034
2018110,264
2019111,321
2020111,978
2021112,444
2022113,026
2023114,749
2024116,241
2025116,767
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Thurrock council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,798 people in 1996; 24,842 people in 2025. 39.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Thurrock council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,850
199217,083
199317,233
199417,457
199517,724
199617,798
199717,847
199817,988
199918,214
200018,443
200118,731
200218,809
200318,834
200418,926
200519,016
200619,038
200719,168
200819,354
200919,622
201019,903
201120,239
201221,116
201321,860
201422,395
201522,884
201623,262
201723,468
201823,713
201923,955
202023,910
202123,953
202224,125
202324,284
202424,602
202524,842
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 175,993 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Thurrock · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh12,2056.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African20,87711.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups5,2523%
White134,98476.7%
Other ethnic group2,6751.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 157,705 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Thurrock · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White135,42985.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,0992%
Asian/Asian British5,9273.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British12,3237.8%
Other ethnic group9270.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 143,128 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Thurrock · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White136,39995.3%
Mixed1,3190.9%
Asian/Asian British2,8542%
Black/Black British1,6591.2%
Chinese/Other8970.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Thurrock council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,986 per person in 1997; £23,662 per person in 2024. 137% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Thurrock council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,986
199810,042
199910,314
200010,431
200110,887
200211,531
200312,058
200412,331
200512,764
200613,130
200713,727
200814,197
200914,570
201014,758
201114,882
201215,242
201315,695
201416,317
201517,004
201617,715
201718,212
201818,927
201919,669
202019,927
202120,676
202221,593
202322,476
202423,662
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Thurrock council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -5.9% in 1997; -8.9% in 2024. 3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Thurrock council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-5.9
1998-7.3
1999-8.8
2000-12.4
2001-12
2002-8.9
2003-7.5
2004-9.1
2005-9.2
2006-10.3
2007-10.5
2008-9.9
2009-9
2010-8.6
2011-8.7
2012-9.8
2013-10.4
2014-9.8
2015-10.6
2016-8
2017-7.6
2018-7.3
2019-6.7
2020-5.1
2021-5.3
2022-6
2023-8.1
2024-8.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

63%

21 March 2021 · Thurrock council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Thurrock council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.6%

21 March 2021 · Thurrock council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.3%

21 March 2021 · Thurrock council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£322,000

July 2026 · Thurrock council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,380

August 2026 · Thurrock council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.